NC Education Corps

NC Education Corps 
by Alex Granados

On Nov. 2, the State Board of Education Executive Committee met virtually and voted to approve 17 Tier 1 and 2 school districts in North Carolina for the inaugural cohort of the NC Education Corps. The Corps would recruit people from communities around the state and train them to help school districts in a variety of capacities including tutoring, mentoring, and more. 

Here are the 17 school districts: 

1.    Ashe County Schools 
2.    Camden County Schools
3.    Clinton City Schools
4.    Cumberland County Schools
5.    Elizabeth City-Pasquotank Schools
6.    Halifax County Schools
7.    Hickory City Schools
8.    Jones County Schools
9.    Lexington City Schools
10.  Mount Airy City Schools
11.  Newton-Conover City Schools
12.  Perquimans County Schools
13.  Person County Schools
14.  Pitt County Schools
15.  Stanly County Schools
16.  Vance County Schools
17.  Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Schools 

During the State Board meeting Thursday, Board Chair Eric Davis said that a little more than 100 corps members will be recruited in this first cohort and will go to work later this year.

Wake and Durham Counties have also applied to be part of the second cohort of the NC Education Corps, which would likely double the size of the corps in the state. The State Board Executive Committee will vote on those applications next week, Davis said.

The NC Education Corps website is also now live. Districts can go there to apply.

If people want to sign up to assist JCPS they can apply at